Independent verification notes on cosmetic medicine in South Korea

Seoul · No sponsorship, no clinic names, no paid placements

Category: Before You Go

Visas, credentials, costs and etiquette to settle before the appointment.

  • Seoul Taxi Fares, and the Scam the City Is Cracking Down On

    Note № 38
    VERIFIED  2026-08-04PRIMARY SOURCES  3SPONSORSHIP  NONE

    Most Seoul taxi drivers are fine. Some are more than fine — they will chase you down the street with a phone you left on the seat.

    But there is a specific scam aimed at foreign visitors, the city has been fighting it for years, and in 2026 it started fighting harder. The defence is knowing what the meter should say.

    The real numbers

    Verified 2026-08-05 against the Seoul Metropolitan Government’s own fare page.

    Base fare, mid-size, daytime ₩4,800 for the first 1.6 km
    Late night, 22:00–23:00 and 02:00–04:00 +20%
    Late night, 23:00–02:00 +40%
    Trips outside the city boundary +20%
    Maximum combined surcharge 60%

    Fares are rounded to the nearest ₩10.

    What that means at 1am

    The 40% band is the one that catches people, because it covers exactly the hours you leave a bar.

    A ride that shows ₩12,000 in the afternoon will legitimately show around ₩16,800 at half past midnight. That is not a scam. That is the meter working correctly, and arguing about it will only make everyone’s night worse.

    The out-of-city surcharge stacks

    Cross the Seoul boundary and 20% is added on top. Combine that with the late-night rate and you can reach the 60% ceiling.

    A trip from central Seoul to a suburb at 1am can therefore run a lot higher than the same trip at noon, entirely lawfully. Check where your hotel actually is before you assume you are being overcharged.

    SEOUL TAXI · LEGAL SURCHARGESThe 1am fare is not a scam.It is the 40% band.Lawful surcharges on the metered fare. Daytime base fare₩4,800 for the first 1.6 km, mid-size taxi.22:00–23:00 & 02:00–04:00+20%23:00–02:00+40%Outside the city boundary+20%Maximum combined+60%0%20%40%60%surcharge on the metered fareSource: Seoul Metropolitan Government taxi fare page. Verified 2026-08-05.SEOUL TAXIThe 1am fare is nota scam. It is the40% band.Lawful surcharges on the metered fare.Daytime base ₩4,800 for the first 1.6 km.22:00–23:00 & 02:00–04:00+20%23:00–02:00+40%Outside the city boundary+20%Maximum combined+60%0%20%40%60%surcharge on the metered fareSource: Seoul Metropolitan Government.Verified 2026-08-05.

    Legal surcharges on Seoul taxi meters. The 23:00–02:00 band adds 40%; crossing the city boundary can stack to the 60% ceiling.

    What the actual scam looks like

    It is not a rigged meter, usually. It is much simpler.

    The refusal to use the meter

    The classic version: the driver quotes a flat price before you get in, or declines to start the meter and names a number at the end.

    Metered fares are the legal baseline. A negotiated flat fare is not a friendly deal, it is the mechanism of the overcharge — and the number is always higher than the meter would have been.

    If a driver refuses to run the meter, get out. That decision costs you five minutes and saves you the argument.

    Where it happens

    Not everywhere. The city’s own enforcement is concentrated in the places that tell you where the problem is: Myeongdong, Hongdae, Itaewon, Gangnam Station, and both airports.

    That is the tourist map. If you are hailing a taxi outside a Korean neighbourhood restaurant at 9pm, you are almost certainly fine.

    How big the problem actually is

    Worth keeping proportionate. In one recent year the city logged 310 violations against foreign tourists, of which 301 were fare-related.

    Against tens of millions of taxi trips, that is a small number — but it is concentrated in a few blocks and aimed at people who cannot easily complain, which is why the city treats it seriously.

    What the city has done about it

    This is the part that has changed recently.

    The QR card at the airport

    From July 2025, Seoul began handing out multilingual cards — English, Chinese and Japanese — at the international departure gates at Incheon and Gimpo, carrying a QR code for reporting an overcharge.

    The logic is honest about the real problem: a visitor who was overcharged on day one has left the country by the time they think about complaining. Putting the report point at the departure gate is the only place it catches them.

    The penalty is being raised

    In May 2026 the transport ministry published a proposed rule change removing the warning-only first offence. Under the proposal a first violation would draw a 30-day suspension, a second 60 days, and a third cancellation of the licence.

    Public comment closed on 17 June 2026. I could not confirm whether it has been finalised and taken effect, so treat it as proposed rather than in force — but the direction is clear.

    The way to avoid all of it

    Use an app

    Kakao T dominates with roughly 90% of the market. The fare is calculated by the system, and there is no conversation about it.

    Foreign cards often fail at Kakao T’s verification step, so either use the pay-the-driver option or use Uber, which works with your existing account and home card. Uber is pricier and less available, but it is fully insulated from this problem.

    For the airport, book the official service

    Seoul designates an International Taxi service for foreign visitors, with fixed fares by zone from Incheon Airport — around ₩70,000 for the closest zone in a standard vehicle, up to about ₩95,000 for the furthest, with larger vehicles more.

    Booked at least 24 hours ahead, you get a confirmed driver and a price agreed in advance. That is the one context where a fixed fare is legitimate, because it is a contracted service rather than a negotiation at the kerb.

    If it happens anyway

    Photograph the licence plate and the meter. Seoul runs a 24-hour citizen line on 120, and the tourist helpline 1330 operates in multiple languages. Neither is published as a dedicated taxi-complaint number, but both are real channels staffed by people who can act.

    Quick summary

    • Seoul’s base taxi fare is ₩4,800 for 1.6 km, verified 2026-08-05.
    • Late-night surcharge is 20% from 22:00–23:00 and 02:00–04:00, and 40% from 23:00 to 02:00.
    • Trips outside the city add 20%, with a 60% combined ceiling. High late-night fares are usually legitimate.
    • The common scam is refusing to use the meter and quoting a flat price. Metered fares are the legal baseline.
    • Enforcement focuses on Myeongdong, Hongdae, Itaewon, Gangnam Station and both airports.
    • Since July 2025 Seoul has distributed multilingual QR reporting cards at airport departure gates.
    • A May 2026 proposal would replace the warning-only first offence with a 30-day suspension — not confirmed in force.
    • Use Kakao T or Uber, or book the official International Taxi from the airport at a fixed zone fare.

    Before you go

    Screenshot the fare table above before you fly. Not to argue with anyone — to stop yourself arguing when the meter is right.

    Most of the anger about Korean taxi fares online turns out to be the 40% late-night band meeting someone who did not know it existed. Knowing the number does two jobs: it tells you when you are being cheated, and more often it tells you when you are not.

    Verified 2026-08-05. Fares change; if the meter and this page disagree, the meter is right and I would like to know through the contact page.


    Sources and last verification

    Prices, fares and hours in Korea change often. Everything above was checked against these sources on the dates shown. If you spot something out of date, please tell me via the contact page.


    About the author — H.I. Kang

    I was born in Korea and still live here. Travelling abroad, I have been the person stuck at a ticket machine in a language I could not read, holding up the queue and guessing — and I know how small a thing it takes to ruin an afternoon. This site exists so that visitors to Korea do not have to guess. Every price, route and rule here is checked against an official source before it is published, and dated so you can see how current it is.

    Related guides

  • Daiso Korea Caps Prices at 5,000 Won. One Won Can Double Your Tax Refund.

    Note № 37
    VERIFIED  2026-09-28PRIMARY SOURCES  7CLINICS NAMED  0SPONSORSHIP  NONE

    Nothing in a Korean Daiso costs more than ₩5,000. That is the whole proposition, and it is why the aisles in Myeongdong are full of visitors holding baskets instead of single items. It also creates a problem no English-language guide seems to mention: Korea’s tax refund for foreign visitors is paid from a bracket table, not as a percentage — and a basket assembled from ₩1,000 items lands in the worst bracket more often than any other kind of shopping.

    The gap is not small. Two receipts that differ by one won can differ by ₩1,000 in what you get back.

    The price cap is company policy, not folklore

    Daiso states it on its own corporate site, under its customer commitments: six fixed price points — ₩500, ₩1,000, ₩1,500, ₩2,000, ₩3,000 and ₩5,000. Korean press reporting adds that the structure has not changed since the company was founded 34 years ago, and that most items sit in the ₩1,000–₩3,000 range.

    The foreign-shopper trend behind the crowds comes from figures the company released itself. Daiso’s overseas card payments rose 130% in 2023, 50% in 2024, 60% in 2025, and roughly 100% in the first half of 2026 against the same period a year earlier. In the first quarter of 2026 the increase was about 70% year on year. The company has published percentages only — we could not find the underlying won figure anywhere.

    The beauty aisle is most of the reason. Daiso carried 7 cosmetics brands and about 120 products at the end of 2022. By the end of 2025 that was roughly 150 brands and 1,420 products, and by May 2026 about 170 brands and 1,900 products. The chain operates somewhere above 1,600 stores nationwide, having passed 1,600 in mid-2025.

    The refund rule that decides everything

    Korea’s VAT refund for foreign visitors starts at a minimum of ₩15,000 per single payment. The Korea Tourism Organization, the Seoul Tourism Organization and Incheon Airport all state the same figure. It was ₩30,000 until the government halved it, announced in 2023 and effective from 2024. English guides still circulating ₩30,000 — and there are many — are out of date.

    For immediate in-store refunds, a single purchase must be under ₩1,000,000, and one traveller is capped at ₩5,000,000 across the whole trip. Those ceilings doubled on 1 January 2024, up from ₩500,000 and ₩2,500,000. When the scheme launched in 2016 the limits were ₩200,000 and ₩1,000,000.

    At Daiso prices, the ₩15,000 minimum is the only limit that will ever matter. At the ₩5,000 ceiling that is three items in one payment. At the more typical ₩1,000–₩3,000 range it is five to fifteen.

    Where the one-won cliff is

    Refunds are paid from a bracket table. Inside a bracket the amount is fixed no matter how much more you spend, so the worst place to stop is one won below a line. The figures below are from Global Tax Free’s published schedule.

    You pay You get back Share of the VAT
    ₩15,000 ₩1,000 73.3%
    ₩29,999 ₩1,000 36.7%
    ₩30,000 ₩2,000 73.3%
    ₩74,999 ₩3,000 44.0%
    ₩75,000 ₩5,000 73.3%
    ₩100,000 ₩7,000 77.0%

    Read the bold rows again. One more won moves you into the next bracket and doubles the refund. The same cliff sits at ₩75,000, where one won is worth ₩2,000. Above ₩6,000,000 the table stops using fixed amounts and pays 90% of the VAT.

    This matters more at Daiso than at a cosmetics counter, because a basket built from ₩1,000 and ₩2,000 items stops at arbitrary totals. A cart that happens to end at ₩28,400 gave up ₩1,000 for nothing. One more ₩2,000 item would have returned it twice over.

    The table is not the same everywhere

    Refund operators publish their own schedules, and they differ. On a ₩100,000 purchase, Global Tax Free’s table pays ₩7,000. Korean reporting on Global Blue’s terms describes ₩6,000 for the same amount. Which operator the shop uses is not something you choose, and it is rarely posted at the register.

    Published pages also contradict each other within a single operator. We found Global Tax Free’s Korean-language and English-language pages stating different figures for the downtown-refund range — the Korean page gives ₩30,000 to ₩5,000,000 while the English page and the tourism board both give a ₩6,000,000 ceiling.

    “10% back” is not a thing

    Korean VAT is 10%, and the number gets repeated as if it were the refund. It is not. Measured against the VAT actually contained in your payment, the schedule above returns between 36.7% and 77% of it in the ranges a Daiso shopper will hit. Measured against what you paid, it is between 3.33% and 7.5%.

    Whether Daiso does refunds at all

    Some branches do, and the company does publish this — just not where anyone looks. Daiso’s store locator carries a service filter named tax refund, described in its own wording as “issues a tax refund receipt (foreign nationals only)”. Individual store pages then show the tag.

    Two things follow from that wording. First, participation is per branch, not chain-wide. Second, what the filter describes is the paperwork, not cash at the till — which points to the airport-refund route rather than an immediate in-store refund. We could not confirm from any official source which branches, if any, refund on the spot.

    Separately, the Korea Tourism Organization lists eight Daiso branches as Tax Refund Shops on its official English site: the Myeongdong main store and Myeongdong Station branch, Hongdae No. 2, Sinchon main and Sinchon Myeongmul Street, Jeju Yeondong, Busan Nampo and Busan Seomyeon No. 2. That list is plainly incomplete — it does not include the large Gangnam store that opened in July 2026 — and there is no published register anywhere of which of the 1,600-plus branches participate.

    The same pattern appears at Olive Young, where the tourism board lists individual branches while the company publishes no policy page. We looked at Olive Young’s foreign-customer figures separately in an earlier note.

    The airport step that costs people the refund

    Incheon Airport’s own guidance is explicit: at the time of purchase you must show your passport and ask for the refund documents. A normal receipt is not enough. Without the paperwork there is nothing to process later.

    Then the split, and the order matters:

    • Carry-on. Check in, then use the kiosk in the departures area. If the kiosk flags your purchase, present passport, sales confirmation and the goods — unopened — at the customs desk.
    • Checked baggage. Tell the airline at check-in that the bag contains refund goods, get customs confirmation, receive the tag, and send the bag through the oversized-baggage belt. Check it in normally and the confirmation cannot happen.

    Here is the trap specific to this kind of shopping. A 200ml toner cannot go in your carry-on: international departures limit liquids to 100ml per container inside one transparent one-litre bag. The sealed-bag exemption does not rescue you, because under the governing rule it covers goods bought at airport shops, at duty-free shops and collected at the airport pickup counter, or on board — not goods bought at an ordinary shop that happens to issue refund paperwork. Daiso and Olive Young are the latter. So anything over 100ml must be checked, and the customs step therefore has to happen before check-in.

    Two practical notes. The staffed cash counters run 07:00–22:00 at Terminal 1 and 07:00–21:30 at Terminal 2 according to the airport operator, so an early-morning departure will find them shut; the 24-hour automated kiosks are the fallback. And there is no published won threshold that triggers customs inspection — the airport’s wording is simply that it happens when the kiosk designates it. Pack so you could open the bag if asked.

    Who qualifies

    • Foreign nationals who have been in Korea less than six months. Diplomats, US Forces Korea personnel and people employed in Korea are excluded.
    • Overseas Koreans who have lived abroad two years or more and have been in Korea three months or less.
    • Goods must be unopened and unused if customs asks to see them.
    • You must leave Korea within three months of the purchase date.
    • If you took a downtown refund, customs export confirmation must be completed within 25 days; a hold of 110% of the refund sits on your card until it is.

    Common questions

    Can I combine several Daiso receipts to reach ₩15,000?
    No. The threshold applies to a single payment. Three separate ₩9,000 payments are three amounts below the minimum.

    Does every Daiso branch offer tax refunds?
    No. Daiso’s own store locator has a tax refund filter, so it is per branch, and there is no published list of which ones. The tourism board separately names eight.

    How much do I actually get back?
    Between 3.33% and 7.5% of what you paid, set by bracket. It is never the full 10% VAT, and the exact table depends on which refund operator the shop uses.

    What is the single biggest mistake?
    Stopping just under a bracket line. ₩29,999 returns ₩1,000; ₩30,000 returns ₩2,000.

    Can I open the packaging before I fly?
    No. Goods must be unopened and unused if customs asks to inspect them.

    What this article does not claim

    We could not reach the text of the special taxation decree that governs this scheme, so no article numbers are cited anywhere above and the exact commencement date of the ₩15,000 minimum is not stated. We could not load the published schedules of refund operators other than Global Tax Free, and we do not know whether those schedules are set by statute or by the operators themselves; the Global Blue figure quoted here comes from Korean press reporting, not from the company’s own page. We could not confirm whether the 25-day downtown-refund deadline is statutory or contractual. We do not know which Daiso branches refund on the spot as opposed to issuing paperwork. We did not find any official statement that goods from tax refund shops are excluded from the sealed-bag liquids exemption — that conclusion follows from the rule’s own description of which shops it covers. The airport operator and the tourism board publish different opening times and gate numbers for the Terminal 2 counter; we have used the airport operator’s.

    Related: Korea exempts medical care from VAT — then names the procedures that lose the exemption.

    Related: Duty-free saves 10% on Korean cosmetics — Olive Young discounts more.

    Related: Korea refunds the VAT on your hotel room — almost nobody claims it.

    The same bracket logic applies to everything else you buy, and there is a second question nobody asks until the airport: whether the thing survives your own country’s border. We checked nine of them.

  • A Korean Lifting Price Is Quoted by the Shot. What One Shot Buys Depends on the Machine.

    Note №32PRICE INTELLIGENCE

    VERIFIED2026-08-19
    PRIMARY SOURCES5
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    Korean clinics price energy-device treatments in shots, lines, cc, Units and cartridges — not in treatments. We read the manufacturers’ own manuals on 19 August 2026. A Thermage treatment tip is specified for single-patient use. An Ultherapy transducer is specified to be wiped and used between patients. Neither manual tells you how many shots a consumable holds.

    You ask what a lifting treatment costs in Seoul. English guides answer with a range: one to two million won. Then the actual quote arrives, and it does not look like that at all. It says 300 shots. Or 600. Or 900. Sometimes it says 100 shots and a price that seems impossibly low.

    That number is not a discount tier and it is not a package size. It is a quantity of consumable — a metered part that the machine burns through and that the clinic has to buy again. Once you know that, the range in the guides stops being a price and becomes what it always was: a number with the unit removed.

    Why is a Korean price quoted in shots rather than treatments?

    Because these machines meter themselves, and the manufacturers built the counting into the device.

    The Ulthera System — sold in Korea as 울쎄라 — displays, on its own screen during treatment, the “Number of treatment lines remaining/total treatment line capacity of transducer.” When that counter hits zero the system raises an error and the manual instructs: “The Transducer’s remaining line count is zero. Remove and replace the Transducer.”

    So the quantity is real, it is enforced by the hardware, and the clinic is passing it to you. The unit is not marketing. It is the machine.

    Note the vocabulary problem already: the manufacturer’s own word is lines, and the Korean price board says 샷 (shots). Those are the same quantity under two names, and neither appears in the English guides that quote you a range.

    What is the consumable, and may it be used on more than one person?

    Here the two best-known machines part company completely, and they do it in their own documentation.

    Thermage (써마지). The Thermage CPT System technical user’s manual — model TG-2B, document P009240-06, September 2021 — says this in three separate places:

    “The Non-Sterile Treatment Tips are designed for single patient use only.” (§6.7)

    “The Treatment Tip is for single-patient-use only. Do not reuse Treatment Tips.” (§10.1.4)

    “Treatment Tips are for single patient use only. Do not reuse. Multiple patient use creates a risk of cross contamination of microorganisms from one patient to another.” (§4.2.53)

    Ultherapy (울쎄라). The Ulthera System Instructions for Use — document 1015107IFU Rev 05, April 2024 — says this:

    “Because the transducer will come in contact with the skin of a patient, the standard practice for cleaning and low-level disinfection of transducers between patients is to gently but thoroughly wipe the transducers with a standard 70% isopropyl alcohol prep pad for a minimum of one minute.” (§9.1)

    Two manufacturers, two consumables, two opposite instructions. One says the part goes in the bin after you. The other describes the procedure for cleaning it before the next person.

    This is a difference in device design, not a ranking of clinics. It is also the reason a request that sounds reasonable for one machine is meaningless for the other: you can ask to watch a Thermage tip come out of its packaging. There is no equivalent moment for an Ultherapy transducer, because the manufacturer never intended there to be one.

    ⚠️ One precision we owe you: the Thermage manual we read covers the CPT system, model TG-2B. We did not obtain the manual for the newer FLX system, and we are not asserting that its wording is identical.

    Is the Ultherapy instruction a hygiene problem?

    No — and it is important not to read it that way.

    Reusable-between-patients is an ordinary, regulated category of medical device. Ultrasound probes in hospitals work the same way, and the manufacturer does not leave the question open: the Ulthera IFU specifies the disinfectant, the technique, and the minimum contact time, and adds that “Neither the transducers nor the handpiece should be submerged in liquid” and to “Place the transducer back into its original packaging between uses.”

    We are not evaluating whether any clinic follows that procedure, and we have not reviewed any infection data. What the two manuals give you is narrower and more useful: the right question changes depending on the machine. For Thermage, the question is whether the tip is new and genuine. For Ultherapy, the question is the disinfection routine, because that is the control the manufacturer actually specifies.

    How many shots does one cartridge hold?

    We could not find out, and that is worth saying plainly.

    The Ulthera documentation confirms a transducer has a “total treatment line capacity” and shows it on screen — but none of the Merz documents we read state what that number is for any transducer model. We also could not find published cartridge shot ratings for the Korean HIFU and RF devices in their manufacturers’ own product pages.

    Numbers do circulate online. We found a specific figure being repeated on social media for the Ultherapy transducer; we could not trace it to any manufacturer or regulator document, so we are not repeating it here. An unsourced capacity figure is worse than none, because it invites arithmetic that may be entirely wrong.

    What you can rely on is the structure, not the number: the consumable is metered, the meter is visible on the machine, and the clinic knows the figure even when the internet does not.

    What else changes the number on your quote?

    Shots are only one of five axes. Change any one and two quotes stop being comparable.

    On the quote What it counts Can you verify it?
    샷 / shots Pulses drawn from a metered consumable The machine counts it; the rating is not published
    lines The manufacturer’s own word for the same quantity Shown on the Ultherapy screen during treatment
    cc / mL Volume of injected product Yes — it is on the syringe
    유닛 / Units Biological potency of a toxin Yes, but only within one brand — see below
    부위 / area Nothing quantitative at all No
    kJ Total energy delivered The machine counts it
    가닥 / ea Number of threads placed Yes

    Toxin Units are the trap. BOTOX Cosmetic’s US prescribing information states that “The potency Units of BOTOX Cosmetic are specific to the preparation and assay method utilized” (§5.1), and that units “cannot be compared to nor converted into units of any other botulinum toxin products assessed with any other specific assay method” (§2.1). For reference, that label puts a full glabellar-line dose at 20 Units, and the vials at 50 and 100 Units.

    So “50 units” quoted for one brand and “50 units” quoted for another are not the same quantity of anything. A price per unit compared across brands is not a comparison. Korean quotes make this harder still by sometimes pricing toxin in cc — which is reconstitution volume, not potency, and tells you nothing at all.

    Filler is quoted in cc or mL, which is honest, but lidocaine-containing versions of the same filler are separate products with their own approvals — so “the same filler” may not be.

    And then there is VAT. Medical services in Korea are exempt from value-added tax as a rule, but cosmetic-purpose treatment is written out of that exemption by name. The Enforcement Decree of the Value-Added Tax Act, Article 35, subparagraph 1, removes the exemption for treatment excluded from national health insurance benefit under Article 41(4) of the National Health Insurance Act, and then lists it: item (a) covers double-eyelid surgery, rhinoplasty, breast augmentation or reduction, liposuction, wrinkle removal, facial contouring, dental cosmetic work and orthognathic surgery; item (b) covers pigmented-lesion, freckle and melasma treatment, acne treatment, hair removal, hair-loss treatment, hair transplant, tattooing and tattoo removal, piercing, fat dissolving, skin regeneration, skin whitening, anti-aging treatment and pore reduction. The rate is 10 percent (Value-Added Tax Act, Article 30: “The value-added tax rate shall be 10 percent”) — we set out the full list of procedures the decree names separately. The decree writes its own exceptions back into the exemption — treatment of complications caused by cosmetic surgery, reconstruction of a congenital deformity, breast reconstruction after cancer surgery, and reconstruction after tumour removal. That is why Korean clinic price pages routinely carry the line 부가세 별도 (VAT not included). Some price lists say it. Some do not say anything, which is not the same as saying it is included. If the quote does not state which, it is a question, not an assumption — and the 10% refund that foreign patients used to reclaim at the airport ended on 31 December 2025.

    What can you ask?

    The point of all of this is not to negotiate harder. It is to make two quotes describe the same thing before you compare them.

    • “How many shots, and of what?” A price without a shot count is not a price. A shot count without the device model is not a quantity.
    • “Is the consumable single-use on this machine?” For a tip-based device you can ask to see it opened. For a transducer-based device, ask instead how it is disinfected between patients — that is the control the manufacturer specifies.
    • “Which brand, and how many Units?” For toxin, both halves are required. One without the other is not information.
    • “Is VAT included?” Ask even when the list says nothing, because saying nothing is common.
    • “Can I have the quote written down with the units on it?” A clinic that quotes in units can write in units.

    The posted-price rule that protects Korean patients has a gap that foreign patients fall through, and the first number you are given functions as an opening position rather than a fixed price. Neither of those is a reason to distrust a clinic. They are reasons to make the unit explicit before the number matters.

    If you want to check the other claim on the tablet — the FDA one — we read what four Korean radiofrequency devices were actually cleared for.

    Common questions

    Why does a Korean clinic quote lifting treatments in shots?

    Because the machines meter themselves. The Ulthera System displays the treatment lines remaining against the transducer’s total capacity and stops when it reaches zero. The clinic is passing on a quantity the hardware enforces.

    Is a Thermage tip reused between patients?

    The manufacturer says it must not be. The Thermage CPT technical manual states in three places that treatment tips are for single patient use only and warns of cross contamination between patients. We read the CPT manual, not the FLX one.

    Is an Ultherapy transducer reused between patients?

    Yes, by design. The Ulthera System IFU describes the standard practice for cleaning and low-level disinfection of transducers between patients using a 70% isopropyl alcohol wipe for at least one minute. This is an ordinary category of reusable medical device, not a defect.

    How many shots are in one cartridge?

    We do not know. The manufacturer documents we read confirm a transducer has a total line capacity and show it on screen, but none of them state the figure. Numbers circulating online could not be traced to a manufacturer or regulator, so we have not repeated them.

    Are 50 units of one toxin brand the same as 50 units of another?

    No. BOTOX Cosmetic’s prescribing information states that its potency Units are specific to its own preparation and assay method and cannot be converted into the units of any other botulinum toxin product. A price per unit compared across brands is not a comparison.


    Sources

    Manufacturer documents read in the original on 19 August 2026. Korean statutes read in the original on the National Law Information Center on 21 August 2026.

    • Thermage CPT System Technical User’s Manual, model TG-2B, document P009240-06 (September 2021), §§4.2.53, 6.7, 10.1.4 — https://ca.thermage.com/siteassets/hcp/pdf/thermage-cpt-technical-users-manual-model-tg-2b-p-np009240-06-2021.pdf
    • Ulthera System Instructions for Use, document 1015107IFU Rev 05 (April 2024), §§7.2.1, 8, 9.1 — https://merzaesthetics.com/app/uploads/2024/09/1015107IFU-Rev-05-US-Ultherapy.pdf
    • Value-Added Tax Act (부가가치세법), Article 26(1)5 and Article 30 — current text as of enforcement 2 January 2026, Act No. 21065 — https://www.law.go.kr/법령/부가가치세법
    • Enforcement Decree of the Value-Added Tax Act (부가가치세법 시행령), Article 35, subparagraph 1, items (a) and (b) — current text as of enforcement 27 February 2026, Presidential Decree No. 36133 — https://www.law.go.kr/법령/부가가치세법시행령
    • BOTOX Cosmetic US Prescribing Information, §§2.1, 2.2, 3, 5.1, via the openFDA drug label API — https://api.fda.gov/drug/label.json

    The Clinic Notes — verified, source-cited information on cosmetic medicine in South Korea. We accept no payments or benefits from clinics, hospitals, doctors, or referral agencies.

  • Korea Treated 2 Million Foreign Patients Last Year. Six in Ten Went to a Dermatologist.

    Note №28PATIENT STATISTICS

    VERIFIED2026-08-18
    PRIMARY SOURCES3
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    If you are reading this site because you are considering a skin treatment in Korea, here is the single most contextualising number we can offer: last year, 2.01 million foreign patients were treated in Korea — the first time the figure has ever passed two million — and 62.9% of them, about 1.31 million people, went to a dermatology clinic.

    The figures come from the Ministry of Health and Welfare’s annual count, announced in April 2026. They describe a market that has not just recovered since the pandemic but changed shape: growth is being driven almost entirely by skin, not surgery.

    The numbers

    Foreign patients in Korea20242025
    Total1.17 million2.01 million (+72%)
    Dermatology share56.6%62.9% (1.31m)
    Plastic surgery share11.4%11.2% (233k)
    Treated at clinic-level institutions (의원)82.0%87.7%
    Treated in Seoul85.4%87.2%

    By nationality, China led 2025 with 618,973 patients (up 137.5%), Japan followed with 600,009, and Taiwan — the fastest-growing sizeable group two years running — sent 185,715, up 122.5%. Reported medical spending reached ₩3.3 trillion. For scale: in the whole period 2009–2024, Korea’s cumulative count was about 5 million foreign patients; 2025 alone added another two.

    What the shape of the data tells you

    • You are not an edge case. Whatever nervousness you feel booking treatment abroad, the system you are entering processed two million people like you last year. Intake forms, payment flows and aftercare instructions for foreigners are now routine at the clinics doing this volume.
    • The typical foreign patient is not getting surgery. Dermatology outnumbers plastic surgery nearly six to one. The representative visit is a non-surgical skin treatment at a small Seoul clinic — exactly the segment where pricing, package terms and review reliability matter most.
    • Volume cuts both ways. Korea’s medical-dispute agency reported dermatology as its fastest-growing complaint category in its latest yearbook (+96.6%). More patients means more of everything — including things going wrong. Know the dispute system before you need it.

    Why is the skew toward dermatology so extreme? That question deserves its own article — we look at what the numbers do and do not explain in a companion piece.

    Sources and last verification

    • Ministry of Health and Welfare, 2025 foreign patient statistics (announced 24 April 2026), as reported with full figures by Money Today — mt.co.kr — accessed 18 August 2026
    • Ministry of Health and Welfare, 2024 foreign patient statistics (announced 2 April 2025) — medigatenews.com — accessed 18 August 2026
    • Korea Medical Dispute Mediation and Arbitration Agency, 2025 statistical yearbook (dermatology complaint growth) — previously verified for our dispute-system coverage — accessed 18 August 2026

    Verified 18 August 2026. Annual statistics are revised occasionally; the ministry’s releases are the primary source.

    Related: those 2.01 million patients are served by a registered supply side — paid patient referral is a criminal offence in Korea, and foreign patients are the only carve-out.

  • Olive Young’s Foreign Sales Went From 2% to 25% in Three Years.

    Note №27RETAIL DATA

    VERIFIED2026-08-18
    PRIMARY SOURCES2
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    If you have stood in an Olive Young in Myeong-dong recently and wondered why half the store seems to be visitors with suitcases, the company’s own numbers say you were not imagining it. In 2022, foreign customers were 2% of Olive Young’s offline sales. In 2025, they were 25% — and spent over ₩1 trillion in eleven months.

    The figures come from CJ Olive Young’s December 2025 announcement, and they describe something bigger than one retailer’s good year: Korea’s beauty chain has effectively become tourism infrastructure.

    The numbers, in one table

    Foreign customers at Olive YoungFigure
    Share of offline sales, 20222%
    Share of offline sales, 202310%
    Share of offline sales, 202525%
    Foreign sales, Jan–Nov 2025over ₩1 trillion
    Share of Korea’s domestic cosmetics tax-free transactions88%
    Countries whose visitors processed tax refunds190
    “Global tourist zone” stores, Nov 2025135

    It is not just Seoul anymore

    Comparing January–October 2025 with 2022, Olive Young’s foreign sales outside the capital region grew 87-fold — Jeju nearly 200-fold, Gwangju 72-fold, Busan 59-fold. About 40% of foreign customers visited two or more stores on a trip. The K-beauty shopping run has become a repeatable itinerary item, not a Myeong-dong one-off.

    Three practical notes before you shop

    • The tax refund happens at the till. Immediate refund on qualifying purchases is why 88% of the country’s domestic cosmetics tax-free transactions run through this one chain — bring your passport, and note the on-the-spot caps differ from the medical VAT story we’ve covered.
    • Functional claims on the shelf are regulated claims. The 기능성화장품 label system we describe in a companion article applies to exactly the products filling these stores.
    • Retail is the safe end of K-beauty. Nothing sold on an Olive Young shelf involves the clinic-side questions — licensing, procedures, disputes — that the rest of this site exists to untangle.

    Sources and last verification

    • CJ Olive Young announcement of foreign-customer figures (3 December 2025), as reported with full numbers by Cheonji Ilbo — newscj.com — accessed 18 August 2026
    • Corroborating retail-press coverage of the ₩1 trillion foreign-sales milestone — mstoday.co.kr — accessed 18 August 2026

    Verified 18 August 2026. Company-reported figures; the underlying press statement is the primary source.

    Related: Daiso caps prices at 5,000 won — and one won can double your tax refund.

    Related: Duty-free saves 10% on Korean cosmetics — Olive Young discounts more.

  • Korea Is Now the World’s No. 3 Cosmetics Exporter. In America’s Import Market, It’s No. 1.

    Note №24INDUSTRY DATA

    VERIFIED2026-08-18
    PRIMARY SOURCES2
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    For most of modern cosmetics history, the answer to “who sells the world its beauty products” was France, then the United States, then everyone else. In 2024, the “everyone else” column produced a challenger. South Korea exported US$10.2 billion of cosmetics — up 20.3% in a single year — and moved past Germany into third place worldwide.

    The sharper number sits inside the American market: among cosmetics the United States imports, Korean products took a 22.2% share in 2024 — the largest of any country, ahead of France at 16.3%. The figures come from Korea’s Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, published in May 2025.

    The 2024 numbers

    World’s largest cosmetics exporters, 2024Exports
    1. FranceUS$23.26bn
    2. United StatesUS$11.20bn
    3. South KoreaUS$10.18bn
    4. GermanyUS$9.08bn

    Korea’s customer mix also flipped. China, long the dominant buyer, fell 10.3% to US$2.49 billion, while exports to the United States jumped 56.4% to US$1.90 billion and Japan rose 29.1% to US$1.04 billion. Domestic production hit a record ₩17.5 trillion, up 20.9%.

    Why this matters if you’re a visitor, not an investor

    • The stuff you buy here is the export product. The serums on a Seoul shelf are the same formulations driving a $10 billion export machine — you are shopping at the source, usually at source prices.
    • Regulation is part of the story. Korea runs a formal review system for cosmetics that claim functional effects — whitening, wrinkle care, UV protection — which is one reason the labels read differently here (we cover that system in a separate article).
    • Skincare products are not procedures. A world-class cosmetics industry and a clinic industry are adjacent but separately regulated worlds — a distinction this site spends a lot of time on.

    Sources and last verification

    • Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, 2024 cosmetics production/export statistics (announced 27 May 2025), as reported with full figures by Cos’in Korea — cosinkorea.com — accessed 18 August 2026
    • Corroborating trade-press reports of the same MFDS release — datanews.co.kr — accessed 18 August 2026

    Verified 18 August 2026. Export rankings change yearly; the figures above are the official 2024 full-year statistics.

  • Korea Has Two Different Visas for Medical Patients. Which One You Need Depends on How Long You’ll Actually Be There.

    Note №12ENTRY & VISAS

    VERIFIED2026-08-10
    PRIMARY SOURCES1
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    2 primary sources checkedReviewed 12 Aug 2026

    A question that quietly follows a lot of treatment plans: if this takes longer than expected, or if I book a package that runs across several visits, am I even allowed to stay that long? Korea’s answer is that there isn’t one visa for foreign patients — there are two, and which one applies depends less on what procedure you’re having than on how long the whole plan actually takes.

    The two tracks

    South Korea’s Korea Tourism Organization lists two visa categories built specifically for foreign patients: the C-3-3 short-term visa, for stays of 90 days or less, and the G-1-10 long-term treatment visa, for stays of up to one year. Both are open to the patient and to an accompanying family member or caregiver, not just the person being treated.

    What actually decides which one you need

    The deciding factor isn’t the category of procedure — it’s the total length of your treatment and recovery plan. A single-visit procedure with a short recovery window generally fits inside the C-3-3’s 90-day cap. A plan that spans multiple sessions over months, or that requires an extended recovery period before you’re cleared to fly, is what the G-1-10 exists for.

    Why the requirements aren’t the same for everyone

    Here’s the part that trips people up: the Korea Tourism Organization’s own guidance states directly that “visa requirements and the types of required documents may vary depending on the nationalities of patients and the lengths of their stay.” There isn’t a single universal checklist. Applicants from K-ETA-eligible countries may be able to use the K-ETA system instead of a traditional visa application for shorter stays, while others apply through a Korean embassy or consulate or through the electronic visa portal. Korea also runs a dedicated Medical Tourism Business Center (reachable at +82-1345) specifically for these questions — a real point of contact rather than guesswork.

    What this means if you’re planning treatment

    • Get the full timeline in writing. Not just the procedure date — the entire window including follow-up visits and recovery before you’re cleared to travel home.
    • Don’t assume the short-term visa covers you. If the window could realistically stretch past 90 days, ask the clinic and your nearest Korean embassy or consulate directly whether the G-1-10 applies.
    • Treat another patient’s visa experience as a data point, not a template. Requirements genuinely differ by nationality — assuming your country’s process matches someone else’s is the fastest way to a wrong answer here.

    If your stay is short enough that neither medical visa applies, the entry paperwork still does. Our sister site covers what visa-exempt visitors are asked for at the border: K-ETA Exempt? You Still Have to File the Arrival Card.


    Visa category names, duration limits, and eligibility details are drawn from the Korea Tourism Organization’s official medical visa guidance and the Republic of Korea’s overseas embassy visa information pages.

  • In Korea, the Person Translating Your Consultation Might Hold a National Certification You’ve Never Heard Of

    Note №11LICENSES & TITLES

    VERIFIED2026-08-10
    PRIMARY SOURCES0
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    1 primary source checked1 reported, unconfirmedReviewed 12 Aug 2026

    A quieter worry than “will the treatment work” is “will I actually understand what’s being said to me.” Consultations, consent forms, aftercare instructions — all of it usually passes through a staff member doing double duty as interpreter, and there’s rarely any way to tell, in the room, whether that person is qualified to carry medical detail across a language gap or is just the person on shift who happens to speak some English. There’s a specific, checkable credential behind that role too, and almost nobody asks about it.

    The certification that exists

    Since 2016, the Korea Human Resource Development Institute for Health and Welfare (한국보건복지인재원), a training body designated by the Ministry of Health and Welfare, has administered an annual Medical Interpretation Proficiency Examination (의료통역능력 검정시험) across seven languages: English, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, Arabic, Mongolian, and Vietnamese.

    The exam runs in two stages. The written portion covers four subjects in multiple-choice format: international culture, medical services, hospital systems, and basic medicine. The oral portion that follows tests the accuracy and logical clarity of a candidate’s foreign-language expression alongside their medical knowledge — closer to a live interpreting test than a vocabulary check. There’s no prerequisite to sit for it; any Korean or foreign national who wants to verify their ability can apply.

    What it’s not

    Nothing in Korean law requires a clinic to staff its consultations with someone who holds this certification. A clinic is free to have any employee interpret — a coordinator, a receptionist, a general staff member with conversational language skills — regardless of whether they’ve ever sat for this exam. The credential exists and is government-run, but it functions the same way the International Medical Tourism Coordinator certification does: a real, rigorous, voluntary qualification, not a floor that everyone in the room has cleared.

    What this means in the consultation room

    If precise communication matters to you — and for anything involving consent, medication, or aftercare instructions, it should — asking directly whether your interpreter holds the 의료통역능력 검정시험 certification is a concrete question with a checkable answer, not a matter of taking a job title at face value. A few things worth doing regardless of the answer:

    • Get it in writing. Anything involving dosage, aftercare steps, or complication warning signs — ask for it written down, not just spoken.
    • Ask for a rephrase, not a nod. If a term or explanation feels unclear, say so directly rather than letting it pass.
    • Keep a summary you can reread. For procedures with real recovery instructions, a written summary matters more afterward than how fluent the conversation felt in the moment.

    Details on the Medical Interpretation Proficiency Examination’s administering body, subject structure, and language offerings are drawn from the Korea Human Resource Development Institute for Health and Welfare’s official exam portal and contemporaneous Korean press coverage of the exam’s administration.

  • The Person Managing Your Treatment Plan in Korea Might Hold a National License. It’s Not Required.

    Note №9LICENSES & TITLES

    VERIFIED2026-08-10
    PRIMARY SOURCES0
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    1 primary source checked1 reported, unconfirmedReviewed 12 Aug 2026

    Most foreign patients at a Korean skin clinic deal with a coordinator, not the treating physician, for most of the visit — booking, translation, explaining the treatment plan, sometimes even sitting in during consultation. What that person’s actual qualifications are is rarely made obvious, and there’s a specific, checkable credential behind the role that most patients never hear about: the International Medical Tourism Coordinator certification, a government national technical qualification jointly overseen by the Ministry of Health and Welfare and the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, administered by the Human Resources Development Service of Korea (Q-Net).

    What it actually takes to get the license

    The certification isn’t a short in-house training course. It’s a two-stage national exam: a written test covering five subjects — 100 multiple-choice questions in 2.5 hours, requiring at least 40 points in every individual subject and a 60-point average overall — followed by a separate practical exam scored out of 100, in essay format. Both stages are run twice a year alongside Korea’s other national technical qualification exams. Eligibility isn’t open to anyone either: candidates need a minimum TOEIC score of 700, plus either a relevant university degree or around four years of direct experience in healthcare or tourism work. People who are already licensed physicians, nurses, or tour guides qualify to sit the exam automatically.

    What it’s not

    Holding this certification is not a legal requirement to work as a patient coordinator at a Korean clinic. Nothing in Korean law requires the person walking you through your treatment plan, translating your consultation, or managing your booking to have passed this exam — clinics are free to hire and title staff as “coordinators” with no credential at all. The certification exists, and it’s genuinely rigorous to pass, but it functions as a voluntary professional qualification rather than a licensing floor for the role.

    What this means for you

    A coordinator holding the International Medical Tourism Coordinator certification has demonstrably passed a government-administered exam covering healthcare systems, tourism logistics, and language proficiency at a verified level — that’s a real, checkable signal. Not holding it doesn’t mean a coordinator is unqualified; plenty of experienced staff never sit the exam. But if trust in the person managing your care is something you want more than a job title to go on, asking directly whether they hold this specific national certification — by its Korean name, 국제의료관광코디네이터 — is a concrete question with a verifiable answer, rather than a matter of taking a clinic’s word for it.


    Details on the certification’s administration, exam structure, and eligibility requirements are drawn from Q-Net, the Human Resources Development Service of Korea’s official national certification portal, cross-checked against independent summaries from Korean university health-administration program pages.

  • South Korea Doesn’t Require Malpractice Insurance for Clinics. There’s One Exception, and You Can Look It Up Yourself.

    Note №4REGISTRY & INSURANCE

    VERIFIED2026-08-09
    PRIMARY SOURCES0
    CLINICS NAMED0
    SPONSORSHIPNONE

    2 primary sources checkedReviewed 12 Aug 2026

    South Korea has no general legal requirement for medical clinics to carry malpractice or liability insurance. A clinic can operate, and treat domestic patients, without one. That surprises most foreign visitors, who tend to assume insurance coverage is a baseline of running any medical business — it isn’t, here.

    There is one category of clinic where insurance is mandatory: institutions formally registered to treat foreign patients.

    The one legal requirement that applies to you

    Under the Act on Support for Overseas Expansion of Medical System and Attraction of International Patients — the law governing Korea’s foreign-patient industry — a medical institution seeking to legally treat and bill foreign patients must register with the government, and registration comes with conditions. The clinic must have at least one specialist physician on staff in the relevant department, and it must carry medical malpractice liability insurance with coverage of at least 100 million won for clinics and hospitals, or 200 million won for general hospitals — with foreign patients explicitly included in the policy’s coverage. This requirement took effect June 23, 2017, following a one-year grace period after the law’s passage.

    In practice, this means the “registered foreign-patient institution” status isn’t just paperwork — it’s the only reliable signal, short of asking a clinic directly and trusting the answer, that liability insurance covering you as a foreign patient actually exists.

    How to check before you book

    The government runs a public lookup system for this exact purpose: the Medical Korea international patient portal (medicalkorea.or.kr), operated by the Korea Health Industry Development Institute. It offers two ways to search — by the clinic’s business registration number, or by institution name with filters for region and status. A clinic that markets itself to international patients but doesn’t appear in this registry isn’t necessarily unsafe, but it does mean the insurance requirement described above doesn’t legally apply to it.

    This is worth checking before you commit to a clinic, not after. Ask for the clinic’s business registration number as part of your initial inquiry — a legitimate, registered clinic will hand it over without hesitation — and run it through the portal yourself.

    What this doesn’t tell you

    Registration confirms a minimum insurance floor and at least one specialist on staff. It does not verify who will actually perform your procedure, what a policy pays out in practice, or whether the clinic has a history of disputes. It’s one data point, not a full background check — but it’s a free one, backed by a public registry, and most tourists never think to look.


    This article describes a legal requirement and a public verification tool; it does not evaluate or rank individual clinics. Readers should confirm current details directly with the Medical Korea portal, as registries are updated periodically.

    Sources: Act on Support for Overseas Expansion of Medical System and Attraction of International Patients, Article 6 — registration of medical institutions attracting foreign patients requires at least one specialist physician per relevant department under Article 77 of the Medical Service Act, and enrolment in medical malpractice liability insurance prescribed by Ministry of Health and Welfare ordinance or in the medical indemnity mutual aid association under the Act on Remedies for Injuries from Medical Malpractice and Mediation of Medical Disputes; registration is valid for three years. Registration status is searchable on the Ministry-operated Medical Korea portal. Statutory text confirmed 12 August 2026.